BCCI congratulates Rohit Sharma for turning into fourth Indian cricketer to obtain Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

Picture Supply : GETTY IMAGES

Rohit Sharma

The Board of Management for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Friday congratulated opener and limited-overs vice-captain Rohit Sharma for turning into the fourth Indian batsman to be conferred with the distinguished Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award. Rohit is among the many 5 athletes to obtain this 12 months’s Khel Ratna award.

“Congratulations @ImRo45 for being conferred with the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, 2020, India’s highest sporting honour. He’s solely the fourth Indian cricketer to obtain this award. We’re pleased with you, Hitman!” tweeted BCCI.

Read Also:  India vs Australia: Australia fined 40 percent match fee, four WTC points for slow over-rate in Boxing Day Test - cricket

Rohit joined Sachin Tendulkar (1998), MS Dhoni (2007) and captain Virat Kohli (2018) within the elite listing. 

In the course of the interval of consideration for the award – January 2016 to December 2019 – Rohit scored the joint-most variety of ODI centuries (20), the second-most worldwide centuries (27) after Kohli, most T20I runs with a tally of 1766, joint-most variety of T20I centuries (three), scored is third ODI double ton, essentially the most variety of worldwide sixes with a tally of 263 and a report 5 World Cup centuries. 

In addition to Rohit, lady paddler Manika Batra, Rio Paralympic gold-winning excessive jumper Mariappan Thangavelu, girls’s hockey captain Rani Rampal and embellished wrestler Vinesh Phogat may even obtain the award. 

The 5 names have been really useful on Tuesday by a committee, comprising the likes of Virender Sehwag and former hockey captain Sardar Singh which met on the Sports activities Authority of India (SAI) headquarters in New Delhi. 

Combat towards Coronavirus: Full protection

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button